Tuesday, December 25, 2018

~The Warble~The Bernovem Chronicles~ Book 1~

Find throughout these pages a message of friendship, hope, perseverance and faith.

A friend loves at all times,

and a brother is born for a time of adversity.

Proverbs 17:17

Twelve-year-old Kristina Kingsly feels unpopular in school. The other kids taunt and tease her. When she receives an unusual Christmas gift, she suddenly finds herself transported to the land of Bernovem, home of dwarfs, gnomes, fairies, talking animals, and the evil Queen Sentiz.

In Bernovem, Kristina not only fits in, she’s honored as “the chosen one” the only one who can release the land from Queen Sentiz’s control. But it’s not as simple as it seems. To save Bernovem, she must place the gift she was given, the famous “Warble” in its  resting place. And she must travel through the deep forest, climb a treacherous mountain, and risk capture by the queen’s “zelbocks” before she reaches her destination. 
Guided by her new fairy friends, Clover and Looper and by Prince Werrien, a teenage boy, as well as an assortment of other characters, Kristina sets off on a perilous journey that not only tests her strength but her heart.

Victoria's inspiration to write this story is her daughter, Kristina. 
~Over 158 Reviews~
**on Amazon** 
Amazon review
Although this is not typically my kind of genre, I stepped outside my box to experience something new. And, am I glad I did. The Warble is a pleasant surprise in that it's not just a tale of fantasy. It holds truth and real life principles that are steadfast in our real lives. The main character, Kristina, holds the pain of rejection from society or her peers. Through her suffering, one person sees her potential and offers her a gift in the Warble - an unsuspecting metal ball that is the key to her destiny through another world - one where Kristina is labeled 'The Chosen One'.
There are threads that point to God and his everlasting love in this book. The story parallels Jesus' return and his victory over a fallen world. Those that have the faith - will see it. Those that don't want religion thrown in their face don't have to worry because it's so slight all you'll uncover is a really good book that offers a story of good triumphing over evil.
Great job Ms. Simcox! I enjoyed this book and how it spoke to me on many different levels.

Victoria was born in Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, to an Austrian immigrant mother and a Dutch immigrant father. She now resides in Western Washington with her husband and 3 children. Her other family members are, 2 Chihuahuas, named Pip and Win and 2 cats named Fritz and Hans. For 12 years, she home-schooled her children. Besides being an author, she is  an elementary school art teacher. Victoria enjoys writing, reading and painting watercolors. Two of her favorite authors are C.S. Lewis and R.C. Sproul.
Face Book: http://tinyurl.com/h2qbsbc

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Looking for an action-packed fantasy adventure?

Looking for an action-packed fantasy adventure? Possibly as a Christmas gift for a young person who loves to read? One you can feel good about giving, due to its clean yet highly captivating content. Then check out all '4' in The Bernovem Chronicles. This is book 3 in Kristina’s adventure. In the same genre as Chronicles of Narnia.

This time Kristina’s stayed on in the magical land, to join Hector Mysteria, in the search for the wizard, Azaril Crimson, who’s hidden Bernovem’s Book of Prophecy in the forsaken land of Jalmara. Sentiz is also back and in search of a key item-the Medallion-that she’ll need in order to cast her final spell to rule Bernovem. Things would be much easier for her, if only the whereabouts of the Medallion were known. Join Kristina as she continues her adventure, on her dangerous journey, where she’ll soar high above the land and seas, on the back of a dragon, barely escape the clutches of death, as well as meet someone from her past she’d never dreamed of seeing in Bernovem.

40 Reviews

Amazon customer review:

Kristina and Werrien's adventures continue in the land of Bernovem, a beautiful, fantasy world, created by Victoria Simcox. All was supposed to be right in this world, after the adventures in The Warble and The Shard...but, are they? There is duplicity and deceit all around. The high-paced, action-packed adventure continues. Will Kristina survive this one? Who is the new guy? What will happen to Werrien and his family?

Great book series for those looking to get lost in another world!

We need to get out of its way!" Hector said. 

Kristina didn't seem to hear the wizard. She stood motionless and stared up at a dragon with a rider on its back.

Hector pulled Kristina out of the way of the beast's mighty wings.
When the dragon landed, its big feet sunk deep into the brittle terrain. Then it folded its bat-like limbs to its sides.
Larger than TayshaWerrien’s horse; the creature had spikes along the extent of its tail and a peacock-green and black scaled head.
Kristina’s eyes followed along the length of the dragon’s body from its tail to its prickly gills around the base of its large cranium that sported a red bridle with silver bit ends. It looks like something between a horse and a reptile, she pondered.
The dragon lowered its head to the ground, sniffed around and sounded like the purr of a cat but ten times louder. Through its nostrils, it breathed in dry dirt, snorted it out and sent pebbles, sand and smoke in all directions.
Kristina swallowed. “I never thought they existed?” she whispered to Hector.
The huge creature lifted its head and stared at Kristina with yellow eyes.
Kristina flinched. “Is it friendly?” she asked Hector.
The yellow in the dragon’s eyes pulsated and streaks of purple shot from its pupils to the outer rim of its irises. It wrinkled its brow, and its spiny mane flared out as it drew in a breath of dusty air and exhaled.
Kristina’s chin rose as the beast lifted its head high above her and Hector. Both glared at its pointed teeth just before it startled them with a loud screech.
Kristina jumped and grasped hold of Hector's arm.
“Best not to talk right now,” Hector said to Kristina.
Kristina’s head crooked in Hector’s direction. Her eyes were full of astonishment. Then she fixed her gaze on the scaled beast.
At ease, Aggy!” The rider commanded the dragon.
The dragon snorted again and then dropped its head.
Down GIRL.”
The beast lowered its body to the ground, and the rider dismounted it.
The rider stood six feet or taller, wore jeans, a brown leather jacket and a dark, leather skull cap with straps that fastened under his chin. Goggles with black rims covered his eyes. From the head up he looked like a World War II, fighter piolet, but below the neck a modern-day, well-built guy.
Strapped to the dragon’s back was a saddle, and secured at the side of it, a pelt satchel.
The rider took from the satchel a few items. Then he approached Hector and Kristina. “Hector,” he said. With one hand, he gave the wizard a firm shake; in his other hand, he held two caps―the same as he wore. He handed one to the wizard and the other to Kristina.
You've got to be kidding! Why would I need this? Kristina thought.
Right away, Hector put on his lid and fastened the straps under his chin.
Kristina stared at her cap―the fasteners dangled in the wind below her fingers.
The ground shook.
“You'd better hurry and put it on!” the rider said to Kristina. “We need to get out of here!”
Kristina snapped out of her stare at the head gear and looked up into the rider's goggles. A pair of obscured, steel-blue eyes stared down at her. She took in a sharp breath. “Of course,” she said and filed her fear into the “deal with it later” compartment of her mind. Toughen up! she ordered herself. It's no big deal you’re about to ride a dragon with eyes that change color and teeth like a shark's that could probably rip your head off with one bite.